Row Wrapper 2

Finding Sandity

4.8485
(33 Reviews)

Capacity

5 Bedrooms
5.5 Bath
Sleeps 10

Search Availability

About

Finding Sandity, located on a semi-oceanfront lot on the 4x4 beach, has better "unobstructed" views than most oceanfront homes in the 4WD area. The 3rd level has a spacious open floor plan with kitchen, dining room, living room, and ships watch. There are plenty of windows in this lovely living area with multiple seating options. The king master bedroom off of the living room has access to the front deck with gorgeous ocean views and panoramic beach views. To the rear of the living area you will find a bonus room with foosball table and a bunk set for the little ones.
The 2nd level has 3 full bedrooms, king with private bath and deck access, queen with private bath and deck access, a room with a duobunk (double bottom and twin top) and another twin bed, and a 4th bedroom that has been converted to a game room with a pool table and and brand new queen sleeper sofa and deck access. Fantastic views from this level mean sunrises can be viewed without even leaving your bed, but feel free to take the coffee out to the top level and enjoy that beautiful reflection of the sunrise over the ocean.
On the ground level you will find front and rear entry doors, fish cleaning table, outside shower and commode, and a park style grill. The new pool is located in the front next to the ocean!! The front yard has a dune dotted with sea oats that add to the charm of this well located home. Walk to the beach in less than a minute!!!!
Reserve this beautiful beach house now for one of the most relaxing beach vacations on perhaps the most beautiful section of the Outer Banks.
Inventory
• New wall to wall carpet, 2019
• Pet free
• Private pool
• 6 person hot tub
• Drinking water filtration system
• Covered parking for two vehicles
• Fully stocked kitchen
• Pillows, blankets and bedspreads for all beds
• Iron and ironing board
• Telephone
• Wireless internet service
• Central heat and air
• Dishwasher, microwave
• Washer/Dryer
• Outdoor Furniture
• Outdoor Shower
• BBQ Grill (charcoal)
• Beach chairs (five)

Saturday Check In - 4 Wheel Drive Required - Extra fee for linens and/or towels - approximately 3 miles up the 4x4 beach Pool and hot tub typically open Memorial day to end of Sept. Parking at the house is free and unlimited. Guests will use the two season passes that belong to the house for parking on the beach.
No graduation groups or events are allowed in any of our homes

Save money by booking directly on the Carova Cottages website:

***fireplace is not available for guest use.

Features

Pets

  • pets not allowed

Location

  • Oceanfront

Entertainment

  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table

View

  • Unobstructed ocean view

Photos

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Rates

DatesNightly
07/23/2024 - 08/09/2024$988
08/10/2024 - 08/16/2024$829
08/17/2024 - 08/23/2024$759
08/24/2024 - 08/30/2024$701
08/31/2024 - 09/06/2024$627
09/07/2024 - 09/13/2024$530
09/14/2024 - 09/20/2024$403
09/21/2024 - 09/27/2024$357
09/28/2024 - 11/03/2024$328
11/04/2024 - 03/28/2025$400
03/29/2025 - 05/09/2025$381
05/10/2025 - 05/16/2025$515
05/17/2025 - 05/23/2025$601
05/24/2025 - 05/30/2025$662
05/31/2025 - 06/06/2025$753
06/07/2025 - 06/13/2025$969
06/14/2025 - 06/20/2025$999
06/21/2025 - 06/28/2025$1,036
06/29/2025 - 07/04/2025$1,051
07/05/2025 - 07/23/2025$1,036

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Wonderful Time!

June 2024
, SAUK CENTRE, MN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful fun and relaxing vacation!

Great family vacation

May 2024
, Myrtle Beach, SC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We rented Finding Sandity for our yearly family vacation. The house was very well equipped and a perfect location on the 4x4 beach. We would highly recommend this house. The 4x4 vehicle was a must for this stay and lots of fun to drive on the beach.

Manager's Response

Finding Sandity's location IS perfect!! Close enough to town that a grocery run isn't that big of a deal AND on a high lot so you don't even have to leave the living room to see the waves crashing on the beach. LOVELY views from every vantage point! The best part of the vacation is right outside the window, but inside won't disappoint either. The owners have been making it perfect ever since they bought the house, with improvements every year. Finding Sandity leaves you 100% relaxed and refreshed.

Excellent Rental

October 2023
, Livonia, NY US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful, peaceful and the most amazing views. Wanted to stay longer!

Manager's Response

We'll put you down for TWO WEEKS next year!! ;-)

ALSO, thanks for your light impact on the house, it was hard to tell you were there! :-)

another amazing vacation

October 2023
, Orange,, CT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had another amazing week at Finding Sandity. You absolutely cannot beat the location, views, home and amenities! This year we had wild horses roaming and grazing right outside our door. There is nothing more magical than sipping coffee, watching the sunrise and having five wild horses grazing right in front of your deck! Memories to last a lifetime! The managers are incredibly helpful and friendly. We can't say enough wonderful things about this rental!

Manager's Response

Finding Sandity really is a magical place. Perfect words!!! :-)

Hope to see you next year.

Such a wonderful house!

September 2023
, Staunton, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Me and my family very much enjoyed our stay at Finding Sanity! The views are amazing of the beach and the house is very nice and clean! It was a pleasure to get to see the wild horses a couple of times throughout our stay. Even though the weather was not in our favor, everyone thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we hope to book again! Laura was a absolute pleasure to work with and took care of the issue we had with the dryer promptly. Thank you again for a wonderful experience

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your review. What a week you all had! That nor'easter just popped up and blew all week! They ended up naming it Ophelia. :-0 The very next day after you left the sun came out and the beach warmed up. It is no fun when guests get almost an entire week of blowing windy rainy days. The good part of that kind of weather though, is the ocean being all churned up and making a spectacle of itself. It is beautiful!! Please try again? Maybe two weeks next year? With two weeks, you're bound to get some sun!

Thanks also for the fantastic job you did upon departure. We appreciated it very much!

4th year with Corova, 1st at finding sandity

August 2023
, Macedon, NY Unknown

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Laura was incredible as usual. This is the 4th year we have used Carova Cottages, it was our first year at FINDING SANDITY. The location of the house cant be beat, the Views , wild horses and access to the beach were all A+. The house fell a little short compared to the other carova cottage houses we have experienced in the past. The internet here was terrible, we kept getting kicked off wifi, and often times the TV wouldnt work. Laura stopped by and dropped off her personal modem/hot spot for us to use. That seemed to help a little bit with the wifi issues. The bigger issue was the upstairs AC didnt work, they had 4 window units in the windows, but the temperature upstairs was always over 75 and one night it was 78, made for uncomfortable conditions. We were told the HVAC guy was coming to fix it on Wednesday, he never showed up. The refrigerator didnt have an ice maker which meant we had to run out and get bags of ice multiple times during our stay. Laura did tell us about a ice delivery service we could use. The other negative was that the area in between the pool and the house was all sand, making it impossible to keep sand out of the pool and the house. The house was Fine, the other houses we have stayed at through carova have been better. We will continue to use Carova because of Laura, she always goes above and beyond. If this is the first house you are renting in OBX you will love it, i think we were spoiled from our previous experiences.

Manager's Response

So sorry about all the issues you experienced during your week at Finding Sandity. The AC was to be fixed the Wednesday of your stay. The HVAC company called to set it up and then didn't show. :-( Thursday was the big storm off the coast so I think they were concerned about making the trip with travel a little less than desirable. They did finally show up after the storm passed and the beach resumed its normal wave action. So they have a new HVAC system installed and it'll be good for hopefully 10 years. The Internet was also fixed the Tuesday after your departure. I guess Labor Day threw the monkey wrench into that repair. :-0 ANYWAY we appreciate your patience and thank you for being such loyal fans of Carova Cottages. We love our repeat guests. So glad you are working on your 2024 plans, keep me posted!!

Stay at Finding Sandity

July 2023
, Shippensburg, PA United States

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
3
Property condition
1

First, I would like to Thank Laura at Carova Cottages rentals. She is an amazing and wonderful agent to work with and I would recommend her every time! Unfortunately, I wish I could say the same about the house. The mattresses downstairs are uncomfortable. The King bed downstairs felt like sleeping on a Futon. The bathroom toilets felt like they are recommended for children. Extremely low and if you have back problems not comfortable. The furniture in the living room are the same. Very uncomfortable to get up from and not a recliner anywhere. The kitchen had to be the most disappointing. The silverware was cheap. I purchased nice forks and left them for the next family. Cookie sheets lacking quality. Blender was broken. And I’ve never been in a beach home with no crab hammers or seafood utensils! (If you want to enjoy cooking at home, this is not the home for you. ). The view of the ocean and the swimming pool are the only reason I will give this home a 2 star review. Hopefully in the future, this home will be updated because it could be an amazing gem.

Manager's Response

Thanks for your review. We are so sorry you were disappointed by the outfitting of this home. The owners of Finding Sandity took on this project home about four years ago and have made major improvements every year since. To say the previous owners had let the place go is an understatement. :-( The progress may not be easily recognized as it includes basic things like a new pool, siding, windows, doors and decks, all huge expenditures. And there have been major improvements made inside as well. The carpeting has been replaced throughout, much of the furniture is new and a few of the bathrooms have new vanities and fixtures. This home is well on its way to perfection, and future improvements will make it the gem you desire. Everything here takes time and resources. Because of the major expenses, the quality of the kitchen silver may not be a priority. Still, we'll make sure to check the kitchen outfitting for it's utility. Meantime, the house is perfectly serviceable and provides a nice vacation at the beach. Fantastic views of the surf, sand and beach make Finding Sandity a classic beach home.

Yearly Vacation Stay

July 2023
, Red Lion, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was wonderful as always, we have been coming for 3 years now, and everything is always perfect.

Manager's Response

Thanks so much!!! We love our returning guests!! Finding Sandity is a great house for relaxing since all you see is the big blue ocean!! It's hard to be anything but relaxed with that view! See you next year!

Sandity is an understatement

July 2023
, Oxford, CT US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great place even better location. The ride in is not for the faint of heart you better have a 4 wheel drive but after that it’s all relaxation.

Manager's Response

LOL. That is too funny Brian. That ride in can be a little tricky huh? ;-)

But yes, that view will make up for any "out of your comfort zone" driving. lol.

Now that you are an experienced the driving, maybe you will come again? We'd love to have you!

A beautiful place with an edge of ocean wilderness feel!

June 2023
, Erie, IL US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We spent a lot of time enjoying the views from inside with windows everywhere and from outside on the upper deck. There was time to enjoy the pool area, time to experience living where the wild horses appear in your yard or out on the beach where you are relaxing. The house was beautifully designed for a family spending time together. The dunes were a new driving experience for Midwesterners; our arrival and our one drive after dark were unnerving! Other than that it was fine.

Manager's Response

LOL, yes the sand driving is part of the allure for almost everyone. Really though, once you get used to it, the sand driving IS part of the fun.

I am so glad Finding Sandity gave you the opportunity to catch up with your family. The fantastic views certainly invoke a certain calmness that allows your shoulders to drop and your mind to empty. Enjoying family at the same time is the perfect vacation!!

Please come again.

Finding Sandity

May 2023
, Chattanooga, TN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was totally amazing. Beautiful home!

Manager's Response

LOL, it is amazing! This home's views are so spectacular, you just can't believe how close you are to the ocean.

Please come back soon!

Great House

October 2022
, Lincolnton , NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Loved the house! It had everything we needed and a wonderful view. Would definitely rent this one again. We loved seeing the horses every day in the yard and running up and down the beach. Great place to stay!

Magnificent Vacation

October 2022
, Orange, , CT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The week we spent at this beautiful home was one of the best vacations we have ever had. We started our mornings sipping coffee on the deck while watching the breathtaking sunrise and listening to the soothing sound of the waves. Dolphins played and fished right out in front of the house throughout the day. The wild horses were absolutely amazing grazing on the grasses behind the house and roaming by us as we enjoyed the beach. The interior was nicely furnished with all of the amenities we could have wanted. Extremely comfortable, clean and again that breathtaking view! I just can’t say enough! We hope to return for many years to come.

Magnificent Vacation

October 2022
, Orange,, CT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The week we spent at this beautiful home was one of the best vacations we have ever had. We started our mornings sipping coffee on the deck while watching the breathtaking sunrise and listening to the soothing sound of the waves. Dolphins played and fished right out in front of the house throughout the day. The wild horses were absolutely amazing grazing on the grasses behind the house and roaming by us as we enjoyed the beach. The interior was nicely furnished with all of the amenities we could have wanted. Extremely comfortable, clean and again that breathtaking view! I just can’t say enough! We hope to return for many years to come.

Finding Sandity

September 2022
, Dubois, PA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

We loved our time in corolla the house was in a beautiful location couldn't have asked for more it was a wonderful week would recommend!

Found Peaceful Sanity at Sandity

July 2022
, york, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

If you want to enjoy the experience of driving a few miles on beachfront and having wild horses come by randomly as local friends, this is the place for you! The house is spacious and in good condition. The onsite swimming pool and hot tub are also in good condition and provide a respite from the sand and ocean while providing water activity just outside the door. When taking the chance the weather will be favorable, it is good to know the house provides amenities for rainy days that may occur. All in all, we found Finding Sandity a good choice!

Great Vacation, Beautiful House

July 2022
, Fairmont, WV United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Finding Sandity is a beautiful home. The views of the ocean are incredible! The wild horses visited daily! We had plenty of room for our two families, my boys loved the pool table. We have a Tundra, my husband didn’t have any trouble getting from the house to beach daily. The pool was so nice, and we enjoyed it daily.
Thank you Carova Cottages for a beautiful vacation we truly enjoyed our stay.

July 4th family vacation

July 2022
, Melrose, MN US

Overall
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had the best time over the 4th if July. The place was clean and the kitchen was well stocked. We thought something was off with the pool motor but a quick text to the property managers and they had it fixed. My only thing is that it should include sheets and towels for the price you pay. When you don’t live within driving distance it’s a lot to pack if you don’t want to pay the price. Otherwise the house is in a great location and we had horses by us every day. We will definitely be coming back to the 4x4 area.

Family time! Celebrating 35 years of marriage

June 2022
, Atkins, IA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
4

The views and setting was amazing! It was what we expected and were looking for. The house size and layout worked well for our family. It does need some minor maintenance items taken care of. The driveway was challenging. We would come here again!

Great House

October 2021
, Cory, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Finding Sandity is a beautiful house in an awesome location. The hot tub and pool table kept our teenagers busy. Laura was quick to respond to questions. We saw horses in the front and back of the house almost daily. The only disappointment was the condition of the windows. I rented the house for the view, and the windows were so dirty we couldn't enjoy it!

Vacation stay

September 2021
, CORRY, PA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great time on our vacation. The house was beautiful!!! It was right on the ocean and the views were stunning.

Manager's Response

THANKS so much. Finding Sandity does have beautiful views... the ocean is right there! What a great way to get lulled to sleep!

Family vacation

September 2021
, Conowingo , MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great stay at Finding Sandity . It was a great location. We loved the pool. We had horses around the house almost everyday. We had a little issue with the water staying hot and Laura was great and had it taken care of right away.

Good trip

August 2021
, Cherry Hill, NJ US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Location excellent, great views, saw horses almost daily, inside in good shape and clean. Only negative about the trip was there were alot of bugs(midges) and spiders on the outside but you are in more of a nature setting to begin with.

Found Sanity at Finding Sandity

August 2021
, york, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Wonderful experience. The property was just right for our family of four adults and three young grandchildren. Immediate access to the beach, frequent visits by the wild horses, and the amenities of the home kept the children entertained and the adults relaxed. Wifi was stable and important to those of us who can never be fully away from the office. Swimming pool was excellent.

Excellent Vacation

August 2021
, Pinckney, MI US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had an amazing time-the house was clean, and the location was amazing. We saw the wild horses everyday. The management company was great to work with-had an issue with the stove, and fixed that within a day-they were right on it. I would stay there again. Pictures were accurate, and the pool and hot tube were great-I would highly recommend this house for your next vist.

Great rental!

July 2021
, Mount Bethel , PA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Excellent home and location! Property was as described in listing. Well appointed kitchen for prepping meals at home. Plenty to do while indoors. New pool and poolside chairs great bonus. 4 stars for cleanliness only for outside areas/ 5 stars for the inside cleanliness- doors to deck had webs had to duck thru, but very easy to sweep quickly on our own and understandable. Not an issue. Inside of house was perfectly clean and comfortable. We would love to stay here again and highly recommend the property to others! Laura was always quick to respond to questions prior to our arrival and day of check in. Thank you!

Finding Sandity

June 2021
, Hollidaysburg, PA Unknown

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had a really great time at this rental. The pool, Hot Tub and house was really nice and exceeded or expectations. Loved the Location. Only suggestion would be to make the driveway entrance a easier access. Even with a 4WD Vehicle, was difficult to get up too the house.

Beautiful Location

June 2021
, Mclean, IL US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We were very pleased with the home. The brand new swimming pool was wonderful! The location was spot on and the house had all the amenities we needed. Laura was amazing to work with!

A dream!

May 2021
, Chantilly, VA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This house was a dream. So close to the ocean, a quick walk even with young kids! There was plenty of space to spread out and Laura was so attentive during our stay. We had a great time and highly recommend this home!

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your review. What a pleasure it is for the ocean sounds to lull you to sleep at Finding Sandity. Those bedrooms are THAT close. So glad you and your family had a great time. We hope you will come again!

Very Nice

August 2020
, Renfrew, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The place and location was very nice. Laura was very friendly and easy to work with. I would recommend staying here.

Breathtaking view

July 2020
, Cheswick, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our stay at Finding Sandity was perfect. The view was absolutely perfect. We could see it from just about every room. We loved the layout of the house, the amenities (the new pool was awesome) and the frequent visits from the wild horses. Highly recommend!!

Manager's Response

Yes, those views are the best on the beach!! So glad the house worked out so well for you and I hope you will consider coming again!

Great week in a beautiful place!

July 2020
, Granite Falls , NC US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

The house was nice and the view was amazing. Laura was wonderful to work with, she is so helpful and kind. We really enjoyed the pool and the location of the home. The only problem we had was the driveway can be a little tricky to maneuver. We have a four wheel drive GMC pick up and it did good everywhere, but it struggled getting up the driveway. The sand is really thick, but we made it work.
Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your home!!

Manager's Response

THANKS for your nice review. Your week was SUPERB beach weather. Unfortunately, the dry weather makes the sand so soft and fluffy so even the 4x4 is working hard. Sorry you had trouble.

I hope you all will come again. It was hard to tell you were even there, the place looked so good!! :-)

Great trip

October 2019
, Mt Ulla, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great view of the beach. We saw whales . Has a great front porch to drink coffee and listen to the beach. The home was a wonderful stay new flooring and carpet. The beds slept amazing. Will love to stay again.