Row Wrapper 2

Horseplay

4.9783
(46 Reviews)

Capacity

5 Bedrooms
6 Bath
Sleeps 12

Search Availability

About

Come Escape…Relax…Dream at Horseplay* MAY weeks reduced! Great ocean views.
Create your memories at Horseplay - an enchanting home where the wild horses roam! This gorgeous five-bedroom home is located less than 400 feet from the beach on the 4x4 beach. It boasts magnificent views of the ocean from all three levels. Wake up to the amazing sunrise over the Atlantic

Two passes for parking on the 4x4 beach will be available for your use while staying at Horseplay. Parking at the house is free and unlimited.

Living areas on each floor of this home provide plenty of space for family and friends to wind down or gear up. The first-level game room comes equipped with a pool table and kitchenette complete with sink, full-size refrigerator and microwave. Watch the big game or your favorite movie on the flat screen. Or take advantage of the surround sound with indoor/outdoor speakers.

The first-level has an adorable master bedroom with twin beds and a private master bathroom, a comfy queen sleeper sofa, and a half-bath. The hot tub and swimming pool are just steps away. Ocean views abound from the hot tub! Turn the corner and you will find an outside shower with a bench and hooks to hang your towels.

The second-level boasts another spacious living area for watching TV, an antique desk for relaxing with a great book, and a wrap-around deck, The same deck, accessible by two master king bedrooms is spectacular for lounging and watching the surf. A third master bedroom on this level offers two pyramid bunk beds, providing plenty of personal space for children to unwind after a long day of playing in the ocean or the pool.

The third-level great room with a convenient half-bath provides spacious and comfortable accommodations, inviting you to relax and enjoy the expansive ocean views. The well-equipped gourmet kitchen with granite counter-tops and two dishwashers beckons you to bring your “A” game and to show off your culinary skills. Two large dining tables provide plenty of space to spread out and enjoy a meal. Play your favorite music on surround-sound speakers or catch up on the news from the flat screen TV that is visible from the kitchen, dining and great room area.

As the waves roll in, watch for dolphins playing in the surf or look for the families of horses grazing on the dunes. Or grab the binoculars to search for the boats sailing by in the distance. At the end of the day, retire to the comfortable master king bedroom or soak in the whirlpool tub and fall asleep in serenity.

INVENTORY for Horseplay:
• salt water pool
• hot tub
• pool table
• second full sized refrigerator in game room
• second dishwasher in gourmet kitchen
• drinking water filtration system
• flat screen TVs in every room
• extra sink, microwave and cabinetry in game room
• granite counter tops
• Fully stocked kitchen
• Sheets, pillows, blankets, and bedspreads provided. Towels available for a fee
• Iron and ironing board
• Telephone
• Wireless internet service
• Central heat and air
• Dishwasher, microwave
• Washer/Dryer
• Outdoor Furniture
• Outdoor Shower
• BBQ Grill (charcoal)
• Beach chairs (five)

Among a host of amenities, this well-equipped vacation home features a salt-water pool and hot tub. 4-wheel drive is required to reach this private retreat just three miles up the beach off the hard road. Guest check is on Saturdays. Linens are provided, towels are not provided but available for a fee. Dogs are welcome to join the family fun at Horseplay. Parking at the house is free and unlimited.
NO GRADUATION GROUPS or events are allowed in any of our homes.
Save money by booking directly on the Carova Cottages website:

***Fireplace is not available for guest use.

Features

Pets

  • pets considered

Location

  • 3rd row

Entertainment

  • Game Room
  • Pool Table

View

  • houses-slices of ocean

Photos

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightly
04/21/2024 - 05/03/2024$261
05/04/2024 - 05/10/2024$299
05/11/2024 - 05/17/2024$396
05/18/2024 - 05/24/2024$421
05/25/2024 - 05/31/2024$498
06/01/2024 - 06/07/2024$657
06/08/2024 - 06/14/2024$729
06/15/2024 - 06/21/2024$856
06/22/2024 - 08/09/2024$996
08/10/2024 - 08/16/2024$799
08/17/2024 - 08/23/2024$699
08/24/2024 - 08/30/2024$684
08/31/2024 - 09/06/2024$541
09/07/2024 - 09/13/2024$471
09/14/2024 - 09/20/2024$328
09/21/2024 - 09/27/2024$314
09/28/2024 - 11/03/2024$299
11/04/2024 - 03/28/2025$207

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Almond Beach Week 2023

October 2023
, madison heights, VA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a blast! Worked out perfect. Laura was great to work with the whole way through. The house had everything we needed and then some. Our children loved that we could park the car with all of our stuff on the beach! We also saw horses just about everyday, sometimes in our yard! Watch your step. A great stay , would highly recommend. Will definitely book again with Carova Cottages!

Manager's Response

Wow, so the horses left you some gifts??? ;-)

We're so glad you loved the house and the vacation and EVERYTHING!!

Please do come again!

Great vacation home!

September 2023
, PLYMOUTH, MA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

House was as described and very clean. Excellent views and a great floor plan for a family vacation. We have rented other homes in the area that we were disappointed with the cleanliness and overall condition and Horseplay was a pleasant surprise.

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your nice review. We are so glad you were pleasantly surprised!! It's always good when you can relax in a home that is well cared for! Please come again. :-)

Wow!

July 2023
, Nashville, TN US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was awesome! Perfect!

Manager's Response

WOW! is the best review ever. THANK YOU!!!

So glad you are coming back next year. It is our pleasure to have you again!

Best Time Ever!!

July 2023
, Kingston, MA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was our second year in a row renting a house on the beach. This house has it all! The setup is great. All the bedrooms have their own bathroom. The kitchen is well-stocked with all sorts of utensils and “tools”. They even had measuring cups and spoons! The house was clean and the property manager is excellent....very helpful and very responsive! I would definitely rent this house again!!

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your review of Horseplay. You are right, the kitchen is ready for any avid cook as well as the frozen pizza chef. ;-) Each bedroom having their own bath makes it EASY to be private in private while multiple living spaces allow for much gathering and gabbing. Horseplay makes it easy to do either or both! Don't forget though, the horses also love Horseplay!! You are sure to see quite a few throughout the week. We are so glad you are Carova Cottages fans. Come again, we'd love to have you!!

Excellent Place to Stay

June 2023
, Jacobsburg, OH United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We have zero complaints

Manager's Response

I like that. Zero complaints is the goal!!!!!

LOL

THANKS

Horses Abound

June 2023
, Saxonburg, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
5

Great week at Horseplay. The house was well maintained and had plenty of room for our guests. The pool was great, not too big, but just right. Everything was clean and the service and amenities just right. Good location with just a short drive to the beach. Plenty of wild horses that actually set up in the back yard several times, cool. Laura was great and couldn't be more satisfied. Next time we plan to vacation in Carova, this place will be on our short list!

Manager's Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay!! The owners of Horseplay love their home and it really shows! The house is so comfortable, with spaces for everyone to do their own thing or gather together. Hopefully you all will consider coming again.. we'd love to have you. And thanks for all your hard work upon departure. :-)

Another Memorable Stay

June 2023
, LaGrange, KY United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This is our second stay at Horseplay. The accommodations were great for a family of 10.

Manager's Response

So glad you enjoyed your second visit. We hope you will make it for a third!!!

Great Getaway

May 2023
, Pelzer, SC US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

I was very impressed with the size, cleanliness, and location of this house! The weather wasn't great so we spent a lot of time inside playing games. It never felt crowded and the view was beautiful! We saw wild horses daily. Laura was great at communicating with us! She went above and beyond reaching out to give us alternate directions due to the weather. We enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to visit again next year!

Manager's Response

Thanks for your nice review. Hopefully the wind will stop blowing the next time you come!! ;-)

Beautiful Serene Setting

May 2023
, Canton, MI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

House was fantastic, location was ideal, wild horses were wonderful but the weather was awful. Thank goodness the house was so spacious and well-stocked because the weather kept us indoors for 5 straight days.

Manager's Response

And the week after as well!! That nor'easter lasted almost TWO WEEKS! ACK!

But yeah, at least Horseplay was a good place to be, with a good view of the ocean with all that beautiful surf. It is so cool to watch a good storm with the ocean all kicked up!

Maybe you should try again? LOL. You are bound to get better weather!!

Paradise in the sand

September 2022
, Mechanicsburg, PA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our vacation was more than we were hoping for. The house was/is clean, very well stocked with plenty of room.

Perfect Family Home

September 2022
, Lyndhurst, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was our first time staying on the 4x4 beach & let me tell you it did not disappoint. This house was perfect for our family vacation & was very easy to find. The views were so pretty & the wild horses made it even better. Very clean and everything was easy to find. We would recommend this house to everyone.

HorsePlay

July 2022
, THORNHURST, PA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Excellent Vacation Home! Some issue when we arrived all electrical surge related from a storm, Laura had everything taken care of by the next morning, and she was super helpful. Excellent to work with!!

#seeyououtthere

October 2021
, Thomasville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Wow! What a fantastic week we had.(Oct 16-23, 2021) Horseplay met all of our needs and expectations! We had a family of 8; there was plenty of room for all of us! We enjoyed sitting on the beach, fishing and watching the horses. My son brought RC planes and did some flying both day and night. Laura did a wonderful job communicating with us prior to the vacation and even stopped by on the day we departed. It was sad for all of us to leave this beautiful place. We would definitely return to this area in the future. (Try that # in the title for interesting places folks travel to)

Fantabulous!!!

October 2021
, Jeffersonville, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was a wonderful vacation! Met all expectation! Laura the property manager was extremely helpful, very personable and so easy to work with. She made all the difference in the world. She answered every question and helped throughout our stay, always available. Thank you to her and to the owners. This place was clean, well taken care of and some occasions breath taking.. Our first day we woke up to the wild horses roaming and seen them probably 4 days while we were there. Sun rise was beautiful! The accommodations were excellent, very well stocked kitchen. Weather was a little rough first couple of days but this was expected we went in the off season. House was more then expected with decks almost all the way around 2nd and 3rd floor, the screened in deck on the 3rd floor was a great way to start a day. Beds were comfortable, pool and hot tub were the best... I would recommend this place to anyone, and already have...

Fantastic Views

September 2021
, N. Chesterfield, VA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

great house! great location,! great views!

Magnificent Family Vacation spot

August 2021
, Elkton, MD US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

Beautiful weather, great accommodations and wonderful family fun! We truly enjoyed the natural habitat of Corova. Quiet and Beautiful location. The layout of Horseplay was perfect for our family and Laura was fantastic!

Fabulous Getaway!

October 2020
, Blacksburg, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We were lucky enough to spend two weeks in Oct-20 staying in this wonderful home. Thanks to remote work and school, we were able to keep up with regular life while enjoying all the extras this home and the beach had to offer! There was plenty of room for our family to spread out in the house and the kitchen was great for serving up family dinners. The beds were comfy and we enjoyed both the pool and hot tub. We didn't have any maintenance issues that required assistance while we were there.

The beach is just a short walk away, and the horses made regular appearances! They surrounded the house one day, so it was like we had our own personal horse show. Sunrises and sunsets were beautiful. We also saw dolphins on the last day, which was fun, too!

Hope to go back someday!

Perfect Place to Vacation during Pandemic

July 2020
, Charleston, WV United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

We had a very nice time!!! The manager was really helpful and answered all of our questions very promptly. The facilities were wonderful and clean. I highly recommend!

Manager's Response

Thanks for your review. I hope you all had a great time. We all need a vacation this year... and if you have to go somewhere, may as well be a one stop shop. Horseplay has everything you need. Please come again!

Best Vacation Ever

June 2020
, NY, NY Unknown

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Horseplay was everything we'd hoped it would be - and more. Watching the horses graze and the dolphins swim was just magical.

Manager's Response

So you are coming back next year right? We'd love to have you. VIRGOS RULE! ;-)

Awesome Getaway

June 2020
, CREWE, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Horseplay is an excellent home and a great getaway. This is our 2nd year at this wonderful house and I would highly recommend this property. It is well appointed and maintained perfect for large families or multiple family vacations

Manager's Response

We're so glad you had another good week at Horseplay! The weather sure was PERFECT! I hope you will make this home your annual vacation spot! :-)

Location Location Location

October 2019
, Westerville, Oh United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

This was our first time visiting Corolla and it didn’t disappoint. A very short walk to the beach and a pool and hot tub at the house meant we barely left to go into town! This area is very unique and absolutely stunning. We brought along our dogs for a very reasonable fee. Certainly one of our best vacations ever. Laura was very helpful answering all of our questions and we appreciated this very much! We did see the horses very close to the house which was amazing.

Wonderful stay at Corolla, NC with the wild horses!!

September 2019
, Spiceland, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

Vacation was delayed for 2 1/2 days due to Hurricane Dorian evacuation. But that didnt stop us from enjoying the rest of our time there. It is an absolutely beautiful location on the 4x4 beach. Very quiet and relaxing which is what we were looking for. Property manager, Laura, is absolutely wonderful to deal with and kept us posted on the re-entry process. The house is a fabulous layout and very roomy. Loved the pool and short walk to the beach. Although this is our 2nd year at this home, I must say it is in need of some maintenance. Coat of paint on lots of areas, replace some broken pool furniture, repair 2 doors that are very difficult to lock and unlock....but still a very enjoyable place to stay.

Great house

August 2019
, Denver, NC US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This house met and exceeded all of our expectations. We saw the wild horses every day and we enjoyed the privacy and peacefulness of the location. Laura, the property manager, did an outstanding job. She answered all of our questions, was very responsive and took care of the only minor problem we had. We also enjoyed driving on the beautiful beach. Just know that 4 wheel drive is necessary. This may have been the best vacation my family has ever taken.

Manager's Response

That is such a nice thing to hear. Having your best vacation ever is such high praise! THANK YOU!.

Awesome Getaway

July 2019
, Crewe, VA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The property was even better than as advertised. We had a great trip and enjoyed the solitude of Carova. Wild Horses were abundant and the beach was not too packed.

Manager's Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Horseplay. It is a lovely area and the house is well cared for! The horses LOVE this section of the beach. I guess the sea oats swaying in the breeze are the draw for them. But they also tend to help you forget that there is any other thing to do, except relax and go with the flow. I hope you will return for another visit soon.

Like no other beach in North Carolina!

June 2019
, Cary, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We were looking for a beach get-away with our teens and their friends that was different than our past trips to the beaches of North Carolina. We wanted it to be something fun and like nothing any of us had done before... Carova Beach checked all the boxes and our stay at Horseplay made the week unforgettable! Working with Laura to arrange our travel was a breeze and she was very attentive throughout our stay. Once we hit the "beach road," we couldn't believe the ride! The beach and sand go on for miles and with no road, the experience of getting there was half the fun!!! Four Wheel Drive is a must! Each morning, we enjoyed coffee on the top deck with beautiful views of the ocean as well as the occasional wild horse or two. We loved spending days on the beach, using our Jeep like a giant beach wagon to carry all of our gear. Then heading back to Horseplay in the evening for some time poolside and games and laughter at the enormous dining room table once the sun went down. The house had plenty of room for four adults, seven teens and all of our beach gear. The kitchen is well stocked and having two dishwashers was a help with all of our crew. The beds were extremely comfortable and having a bathroom for each bedroom was wonderful! We really relaxed on this trip, had lots of family time and just enjoyed being away from it all! Thank you, Carova Cottages, for an amazing week!

Manager's Response

LOVE YOUR REVIEW! Thank you so much for the nice review of this lovely home. Your words have managed to capture the serenity of the beach here, even with SEVEN teens in tow. What a GREAT house for your family with plenty of space for everyone. I hope you will consider a return visit. We would be happy to have you!

Beautiful

October 2018
, Charlotte, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We enjoyed peace and quiet - had the beach to ourselves most of the time. The house is nice and seeing the wild horses was magical!

Incredible week

September 2018
, Bridgeport, Pa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Stayed here for the last week of September. Woke up three separate mornings with several horses grazing in the yard. Add the sunrises and it was such a surreal start to each day. The houses is very adequate and would certainly rent again. Shows some wear and tear of a rental, but expected. Stocked with everything! Forgot a few items for preparing meals before we left home and always found what we needed in the house. Quick walk to the beach. Only 3 miles off the paved road was perfect for getting back into town when needed. Barely saw any neighbors all week. Pool and hot tub were great. For anyone who plans on watching some sports on TV, you might be disappointed. Cable is basic, there are no ESPN channels, FS1, etc. Wasn’t a big deal for us, but a heads up for the sports fan. Laura was readily available for any questions. She was outstanding and would be happy to rent from her again.

HORSEPLAY - beautiful, clean, great location, pool & hot-tub!

September 2018
, Spiceland, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We arrived about the same time as Hurricane Florence was taking shape as a hurricane. She headed our way so our week was cut short. Arrived late Saturday night and by Monday they had issued mandatory evacuation. But the short time we had there was great! Beds slept great, number of bathrooms swas great also. We enjoyed the pool, hottub and even were able to see the wild horses before leavinng. It definitely requires a 4x4 vehicle!! For sure get insurance...we lost 4 1/2 days due to hurricane evacuation and couldn't get a refund without it.

Manager's Response

FLORENCE. The big storm that thankfully changed course at the last minute. If it hadn't, we would have had a TERRIBLE mess here. I feel sorry for the southern coastal part of the state. STILL flooded a week later!


SEPTEMBER is the middle of hurricane season and we try to advise people to purchase the travel insurance. But it is another couple hundred dollars and if you have never had your trip interrupted before, it seems an unnecessary expense. I wish I could make everyone buy it and I even asked our insurance company if I could add it to the cost of the vacation and make it mandatory. Of course I could not.... but I wish I could!!! THAT would throw off all those actuary tables wouldn't it?


SO GLAD you are considering a repeat stay next year. How about June? ;-)

HORSEPLAY - beautiful, clean, great location, pool & hot-tub!

September 2018
, Spiceland, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We arrived about the same time as Hurricane Florence was taking shape as a hurricane. She headed our way so our week was cut short. Arrived late Saturday night and by Monday they had issued mandatory evacuation. But the short time we had there was great! Beds slept great, number of bathrooms swas great also. We enjoyed the pool, hottub and even were able to see the wild horses before leavinng. It definitely requires a 4x4 vehicle!! For sure get insurance...we lost 4 1/2 days due to hurricane evacuation and couldn't get a refund without it.

Manager's Response

FLORENCE. The big storm that thankfully changed course at the last minute. If it hadn't, we would have had a TERRIBLE mess here. I feel sorry for the southern coastal part of the state. STILL flooded a week later!


SEPTEMBER is the middle of hurricane season and we try to advise people to purchase the travel insurance. But it is another couple hundred dollars and if you have never had your trip interrupted before, it seems an unnecessary expense. I wish I could make everyone buy it and I even asked our insurance company if I could add it to the cost of the vacation and make it mandatory. Of course I could but I wish I could!!! THAT would throw off all those actuary tables wouldn't it?


SO GLAD you are considering a repeat stay next year. How about June? ;-)

First vacation with a newborn

September 2018
, Fairfax, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a wonderful time at Horseplay! This was the first vacatuon we’ve taken since having our son, and it was everything we expected. We vacatuoned with another couple who also had a newborn and the house was perfect. It was exactly as listed. The house was clean and provided every accommodation we hoped for! The staff was very responsive and helpful as we planned our trip.

Manager's Response

We are so glad you chose Horseplay to introduce your brand new son to the ocean. We hope you will come again and repeat the stay for years to come!

Wonderful Vacation

August 2018
, Ringoes, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house was perfect, the weather that week was perfect - couldn't ask for a better vacation! My family enjoyed all the space, was great to take a dip in the pool after a day at the beach!

Manager's Response

Horseplay is the perfect house! I hope you will come and stay again. What a GREAT WEEK of weather you had too... PERFECT!

Wonderful Vacation

August 2018
, Ringoes, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house was perfect, the weather that week was perfect - couldn't ask for a better vacation! My family enjoyed all the space, was great to take a dip in the pool after a day at the beach!

Manager's Response

Horseplay is the perfect house! I hope you will come and stay again. What a GREAT WEEK of weather you had too... PERFECT!

Beautiful interior, great floor plan, and quick access to beach

August 2018
, Damascus, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house will not disappoint. Having the main areas (living room, dining room, and kitchen) on the top level with an open floor plan and lots of windows worked very well. Beds were comfortable too. Location is away from the crowded beach areas which is a big plus.

Manager's Response

WE love it when folks love our houses! I hope you will consider a repeat stay at Horseplay. We would be very happy to have you.

Fabulous house for a big family! The horses come to you!

July 2018
, Louisa, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great house to spread out the family on three floors. Great views, easy walk to the beach. Plenty of beaming sunshine in the house. Greatly appointed. Wrap around deck is huge with a great screened in porch on the side. Small pool but lovely. Master bedrooms are great but could use new mattresses and pillows. We would go back again and again but be prepared for not only the sandy drive but potential flooding on the “roads” if it rains. It’s a part of the seclusion though that we loved. We saw the wild horses day and night, it was magical!

Manager's Response

Thank you for the nice review. Your stay coincided with that EPIC amount of rainfall. I think they said it was 20 inches before it was all said and done. What a crazy storm. And the "roads"... rivers? But what a nice house to be stuck indoors! And I think you ended up with some sunshine before the week was out. Your rainy beach stay is crossed off the list, so next time, you are bound to have some sun! But sounds like the magic happened anyway. So please come again. :-)

Horseplay Adventure

June 2018
, Germantown, WI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a wonderful vacation. There were many visiting horses, the home met the needs of our family and everything functioned. Property manager Laura and VRBO were extremely helpful. Be aware that you DEFINITELY need 4 wheel drive and the mile markers are difficult to spot. For the cost of this home, I did not expect rust in the toilets and tubs, knobs that fell off the bottom of the coffee table, dining room chairs that we kept reassembling or dishes (clean?) still in dishwasher upon arrival. These are minor issues, however - it is a beautiful location and great home.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review. SO SORRY the dishwasher was not unloaded... that sometimes happens when the guest before didn't start it and the housekeeping staff arrives later in the day and must start it for them. Thanks for the heads' up on the chairs and the coffee table. These are things I cannot know unless I stay at the home myself, so I am glad you let me know. There is a water conditioning system at Horseplay to alleviate "beach water". The iron can sometimes get through anyway, but I will be sure to mention it to the water service technician.

It seems as though the vacation was successful despite these issues and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The wild horses do make it magical.

Excellent first trip to outerbabks

October 2017
, Noblesville, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Horseplay was a great place to stay for our familys first trip to the outer banks! It had everything we needed. The hot tub and pool were great. We went in mid/ October so we added pool heat and it was perfect. It was an easy 3 min walk to the beach. Laura was awesome! We left a few things accidentally after our stay and she shipped them to us immediately. She was always willing to answer questions.

Manager's Response

THANK you for the nice review. We are so glad to be able to offer pool heat for those chilly fall months. Sometimes the ocean is warm enough but buying the pool heat is playing it safe! Hope you can make it back next fall.

Must Play at Horseplay

September 2017
, Flemington, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Arrived at Horseplay to find everything in order. Laura James was excellent in insuring the home was ready and any problems were addressed. House is in great location to the beach (two minute walk). Kitchen was well stocked. Really enjoyed eating in enclosed porch during sunset. My dog had lots of space to play and relax. If you want to see wild horses, they frequently pass through and even stay on the property. Swimming pool and hot tub nice for a cooler day or when the ocean waters are rough. I highly recommend this property.

Manager's Response

THANK you for the nice review. You managed to capture the essence of relaxation that comes with a stay at Horseplay. It is a nice spacious house with an easy walk to the beach! Sunsets from the screened porch with a nice meal and family gathered around... PERFECT!

Vacation at Horseplay

September 2017
, PEQUEA, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful home, felt warm and welcoming. Saw wild horses every day, short stroll to the beach. Ocean view was breathtaking.

Manager's Response

THANKS so much. Horseplay is a nice place to unwind!

Such a wonderful vacation

July 2017
, Toronto, ON Canada

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had such a great time at Horseplay! Laura, the property manager was always very responsive to all our pre-trip questions and the odd question we had while at the house.
Horseplay was clean, well equipped, comfy...exactly as others had reviewed. The pool was perfect - and take the advise of management - summer heat sufficiently heats the pool!
When we arrived on the beach to drive to the house, within a few minutes of our drive we not only saw some wild horses, we also saw dolphins jumping out of the water. All week long we continued to see playful dolphins and horses. The horses were both at the beach and around the house. Absolutely amazing.
A few notables - not negatives, more just nice to knows. Weekends are very busy on the island but if you stay out of Duck you will avoid most of this traffic. Arriving ahead of your check in time is advisable to get ahead of the weekend beach traffic. Also, for those with kids, cars do get the right of way on the beach...this is especially important during low tide.
Overall, our group of 8 (4 adults and 4 kids) had a fabulous week. We definitely recommend this house and the area. What an incredible experience we had!

Manager's Response

THANKS so much for the nice review. The wildlife here is so thrilling! We never tire of watching the horses, particularly when they are playing! The beach driving is part of the excitement, but you are right, it is a little unnerving when relaxing on the beach. Using a vehicle for a barricade is pretty effective, but even so, Carova is definitely not your typical beach setting! There is an untamed feel here that is part of the draw! I hope you will return to Horseplay again. Come in September and we'll crank that pool heat up! ;-)

Horseplay

April 2017
, IRMO, SC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
4

Great

Manager's Response

Thank you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Ultimate family get away

August 2016
, Burlington, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our family of 11 aged 1 to 84 had a very peaceful week with perfect weather. The house was roomy enough that anyone who wanted quiet alone time could have it. The pool and hot tub were wonderful, the kitchen well equipped, and the views spectacular. Loved the horses and lizards too.

4x4 Carova cottage vacation

July 2016
, Easton, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This vacation was way above our expectations.. Absolutely gorgeous !! From the moment we entered the sand road, to see horses walking by you on the beach .. Was just awesome .. The house was just as pictured ~beautiful ! We had our family with us and not once did we feel crowded.. Loved sitting on the deck watching the Dolphins .. And hearing the ocean waves .. The pool was perfect, our grandkids loved it ... We would love to come back, everyone's favorite vacation spot .. Thank you Laura for everything .

Carova Beach May, 2016

May 2016
, Wolcott, CT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My Husband and I had never been to the Outer Banks. Seeing the wild horses was on my Bucket list.....and the result was beyond my wildest dreams!! Beautiful beach, house and horses!!We met Laura, the property manager. She was wonderful to work with and provided appropriate info for our trip. Can't wait to go back!!!! 4WD a must ....worked out perfectly!!

Carova Beach May, 2016

May 2016
, Rotonda West, FL United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My Husband and I had never been to the Outer Banks. Seeing the wild horses was on my Bucket list.....and the result was beyond my wildest dreams!! Beautiful beach, house and horses!!We met Laura, the property manager. She was wonderful to work with and provided appropriate info for our trip. Can't wait to go back!!!! 4WD a must ....worked out perfectly!!

Can't wait to return!

April 2016
, Woodstown, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had an absolutely wonderful time during our vacation. The house was beautiful and comfortable and we felt instantly at home. We are looking forward to returning next year for a longer stay.

Great place to stay!

April 2016
, Cazenovia, NY United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had a great time. Accommodations are clean and comfortable and perfect for a large family stay. We woke up to horses 3 out of 7 days right outside this house. Perfect place to unplug listen to the waves and get away from the hustle and bustle.