Row Wrapper 2

Playing Hooky

4.7273
(33 Reviews)

Capacity

5 Bedrooms
5.5 Bath
Sleeps 10

Search Availability

About

Come Play Hooky...
Transport back to childhood when the thrill of getting away from your responsibilities could be as simple as ‘playing hooky’. Feel your shoulders drop as soon as you leave the hard road to drive on the 4x4 beach right next to the gorgeous, blue ocean.

Playing Hooky boasts all the amenities you can think of, for the relaxation and enjoyment of all ages. The game room, located on the entry level, has a pool table, kitchenette, flat screen tv with receiver, blu-ray player and Bose speaker surround sound, pub table and chairs, full bath and a large, comfortable seating area for entertaining. A duo bunk and twin bedroom on this level is perfect for the kids retreat, or a 4 person family. Outside is the huge pool with picnic table and lounge chairs as well as a cabana bath and outside shower.

The laundry room and three bedrooms are on the next floor: one is a king with a private bath, the other two are kings with a shared bath. All upper and mid level bedrooms are equipped with every comfort as well as wall mounted Dish network tvs. Step outside for the cool ocean breeze on the screened porch, which overlooks the pool and has a 6 person hot tub and dining table. Sip a frosty beverage while watching the spectacular evening sky, or watch the children swimming in the pool below. The hot tub's location in the screened porch means no annoyance from flying pests while you soak.

Unwind as you top the stairs of the upper level. The lovely leather furniture, half bath and comfortable spaces are outdone only by the stunning ocean views. The fifth bedroom, a queen bedroom with private bath is also located on this level. Just past the island with seating for three is the well-equipped kitchen, with everything you will need to create a delicious meal. Nice quality flatware and place settings will create a beautiful table for 12.

Through the dining area is the bright and inviting sun-room equipped with card table and upholstered chaise for your lounging pleasure. Step through the sun-room to the west onto a wonderful sun deck with views of the Currituck Sound. Step through the sun-room to the east for spectacular ocean views and decking with outdoor seating and access to another level of decking above, the crow’s nest deck located on the roof. Take your favorite cool beverages to the crow’s nest and let all your cares blow away as you enjoy the spectacular sunsets from the built in seating. Look to the south for a view of the Currituck Lighthouse beacon and the Fourth of July fireworks at Heritage Park. Come and Play Hooky for a thoroughly relaxing retreat, and let this wonderful home free you from all of your cares.

EXTRA INVENTORY for Playing Hooky:
• Pool table
• Game room w/ second frig, wet bar, blu-ray player, and Bose speakers stereo surround sound. Seating for 10.
• DISH tv in 4 bedrooms
• Leather sofa and love seat
• Cabana Bath
• Hot Tub located inside the screened porch
• Sun room right off kitchen for private moments
• Fully stocked kitchen
• Iron and ironing board
• Telephone
• Wireless internet service
• Central heat and air
• Dishwasher, microwave
• Washer/Dryer
• Outdoor Furniture
• Outdoor Shower
• Gas Grill
• Five beach chairs
CHANGE for 2024.. Pets are NOT allowed.

SATURDAY CHECK IN - 4 WHEEL DRIVE REQUIRED - Sheets and towels available for a fee - approximately 3 miles up the 4x4 beach - Pool and hot tub typically open middle of May to the end of Sept dependent upon weather and rental schedules. Parking at the house is free and unlimited. Guests will use the two season passes that belong to the house for parking on the beach NO GRADUATION GROUPS are allowed in any of our homes.

Save money by booking directly on the Carova Cottages website:

 

 

 

Features

Pets

  • pets not allowed

Location

  • 4th row

Entertainment

  • Game Room
  • Pool Table

View

  • dune/ partial ocean

Photos

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightly
04/21/2024 - 04/26/2024$238
04/27/2024 - 05/03/2024$244
05/04/2024 - 05/10/2024$325
05/11/2024 - 05/17/2024$402
05/18/2024 - 05/24/2024$514
05/25/2024 - 05/31/2024$571
06/01/2024 - 06/07/2024$620
06/08/2024 - 06/14/2024$711
06/15/2024 - 06/21/2024$756
06/22/2024 - 08/09/2024$814
08/10/2024 - 08/16/2024$711
08/17/2024 - 08/23/2024$637
08/24/2024 - 08/30/2024$577
08/31/2024 - 09/06/2024$430
09/07/2024 - 09/13/2024$363
09/14/2024 - 09/20/2024$271
09/21/2024 - 11/03/2024$242
11/04/2024 - 03/28/2025$228

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Whalen

August 2023
, Pottsville, PA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a fantastic time. The home is beautiful.

Manager's Response

We are so glad you liked Playing Hooky!! :-) That name brings up memories of stealing days from school to have a lazy day off from life and it's requirements. I hope you got a little of that during your week there. I bet it was easy to conjure with the ocean just over the dune, and the sunset just over the sound. Life is good!

Playing Hooky July 2023

July 2023
, Fishers, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Cottage was exactly as advertised. This is the second time we visited this cottage. The other time was a week in 2021. Visit was excellent each time. Laura, the property manager is great and if there is an issue, she responds and corrects the issue quickly.

Manager's Response

THANKS for your nice review. I hope you all will come and visit again. Hooky is the perfect fit!!!

Best house ever

July 2023
, Connelly Springs , NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Love this house .. very close to the beach.. amazing views from the deck to see the ocean.. lots of room .. the pool is a very good size plenty of room for everyone to play and float .. I will be renting this house for next years .. kids loved the game room

Manager's Response

Playing Hooky does check off all the boxes. The pool is a nice size for all the floaties people use these days. KING SIZE SWANS!! lol

So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your nice review!

Family Vacation

July 2023
, Mooresville, NC US

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
2
Location
5
Property condition
2

All in all we had a good vacation. Great area and location. Loved the wild horses. The rental house was not up to par. The downstairs air-conditioner did not work the internet was off and on and the outdoor bathroom next to the pool looked like it had never been cleaned. For $7,200 a week I would expect more.

Manager's Response

I wish you had let me know about these issues that concerned you. Now I understand why the house was left in such disarray. You didn't think we cared. We do.

We had the AC repaired the day you notified us.

We can't control how the internet works. We warn everyone that the internet here is not the most dependable.

The outside bathroom is hosed down every week but the sand blows back in in a matter of hours.

So sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

Playing Hooky was fantastic peaceful and clean

June 2023
, Mosheim, TN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had an amazing time at OBX. Laura and their rental team was wonderful to deal with. We had a couple minor issues but they were on the scene with assistance within minutes of my call. We look forward to going back and using their rental services again next year. The home was very clean one of the cleanest I've stayed in.

Manager's Response

Thanks so much Diana. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. And we have you all signed up for next year.

Hope you can hold on for 51 weeks!! lol

Perfect Vacation!

September 2022
, Ringoes, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

What a wonderful house and a wonderful week away! House had everything we could possibly want, was a great location and could hear the waves at all times and watching the sunrise and sunset from the nest up top was worth it! Already regretting coming home, wish we could have stayed longer! Next year! Always a wonderful trip and love renting from Carova Cottages, everything is taken care of!

Quiet Getaway

May 2022
, Star Tannery, VA US

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

It was as expected, a spacious home for our small gathering, close to beach, nice view from crow's nest.

Playing Hooky--Great week of vacation

July 2021
, FISHERS, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Laura and David were easy people with which to work and kept us informed about the rental property and what to expect. The week was without incident and enjoyable for all.

Playing Hooky--Great week of vacation

July 2021
, Fishers, IN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Laura and David were easy people with which to work and kept us informed about the rental property and what to expect. The week was without incident and enjoyable for all.

Wonderful place

May 2021
, THE PLAINS, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Easy rental through Carova Cottages as always. All costs provided upfront, no secrets.

The house was very nice. Only complaint I would say is that we could never figure how to get the ice maker to work. I guess we could have called, but we brought 2 huge bags of ice for coolers anyway.

Manager's Response

LOL. I wonder what was going on with that ice maker. It works! Sorry we didn't get to you before you bought the bags, but honestly, I think bagged ice is JUST EASIER! LOL.

Hope to see you next year! THANKS

Great place to Relax!

May 2021
, Mooresville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great vacation at Playing Hooky. It was everything we wanted from our vacation: a place to get away, sit around, watch the horses, and walk the beach. Even though there are houses up and down the “street” it still felt secluded enough for our needs. I would definitely book with any Carova Cottages property again based on the experience we had with Laura: quick responses, professional, and very informative. Awesome all around!

Manager's Response

What a nice review. THANK YOU! Playing Hooky really is a great place to relax. Pool tournaments and puzzles are the most important tasks for the day!! Well I guess that is MY idea of a fun day, but the possibilities are endless. The huge pool and secluded hot tub are another diversion. Not to mention morning coffee watching the sunrise OR favorite beverage watching the sunset from way up top in the crow's nest. Please come and stay again! There are still things to do!! ;-)

Amazing property with even better service

September 2020
, Chesterfield, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Everything from initial contact was great. Super friendly management. The house is beautifully decorated and super clean. Kitchen is fully stocked with every kind of tool, cookware, etc. Fridge on bottom and top level which is very convenient. 3 minute walk to the beach. Highly recommended.

Perfect Family Getaway

July 2020
, West Milford, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Playing Hooky was just the right place for our large family to enjoy a fun week at the beach. Only two roads back from the beach, it's an easy walk, but we loaded up the SUV and truck each day and set up camp on the beach. The horses joined us for half the week, adding a beautiful dimension to the natural beauty of the area. This house has a well-stocked kitchen with several coffee makers to make mornings easier for such a large crew. The bedrooms and living areas were exactly as photographed as well as clean and nicely appointed. The pool was such a great place to end the day at the beach, too! The view of the ocean from the top deck was nice, but the view from the crow's nest was spectacular! There we saw spectacular sunrises and sunsets. We also brought along our two dogs, who enjoyed the beach and swimming in the ocean. This house is perfect!

Manager's Response

Wow. we are so glad you enjoyed Playing Hooky! It is a great home with lots of space, comfortable furniture and YES LOTS OF COFFEE MAKERS! LOL. We know how important that liquid is! ;-) For whatever reason, there seem to be three of them there this year! The crow's nest is a favorite spot for taking a different liquid (think corks) to watch the sunsets. But coffee works as well for the sunrise over the ocean!! Wonderful review and thanks so much for your job upon departure. We appreciate it when folks take the time to get things back in order. :-) Please come again!.

Playing Hookey

June 2020
, Mantua, OH Unknown

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Had a wonderful time...weather at the beginning was stormy but enjoyed family time then the last of the vaca was on to the beach. Plenty of horses, sun and sand. House was great with lots of activities and amenities.

Manager's Response

THANKS so much for your nice review. We were worried for those first two days... it was looking like it was going to rain FOREVER!! Thankfully, the clouds broke and the sun peeked out. Smooth sailing from then on!

Thanks for your attention to the house upon checkout. We really appreciate it when folks take the time to lessen their impact! It was obvious that you cared for the house as if it were your own. :-)

Last minute getaway

June 2020
, Ellicott City, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The total experience was great. The house had all the amenities we needed. Having a pool was a big plus for our grandchildren.

Manager's Response

THANKS! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's so nice that your family could re-unite here! :-)

One of my best vacations.

May 2020
, Dublin, OH US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

What a wonderful experience. I will definitely be back. The house was perfect. Loved the horses. And the property management professional was so helpful. I didn't want to leave. Highly recommend. The locals that live there were helpful when I had questions about area.

Manager's Response

THANK you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Great Expectation

August 2019
, Lancaster, SC US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had the best time at Playing Hooky. The house was perfect and we couldn’t have found a better house. Easy access to the beach and grocery store and other activities. The pool was a bonus. Thanks so much Carova Cottages.

Manager's Response

You are so welcome. We LOVE Playing Hooky too. Great house with lots of room for everyone! Hope you will come back and visit again. Hope your husband is doing well.

Summer Vacation

July 2019
, Hudson, OH US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was the best week ever! The horses came almost every day, the house was awesome, had everything! The management company went above and beyond our expectations, we will definitely be back!

Manager's Response

THANKS so much for your nice review!! So glad you had a great time and we look forward to having you return!

Spring break 2019 at Playing Hooky

April 2019
, Skillman, NJ United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

Nice house, not too far up the beach, so easy trip into Corolla. Sun room, pool table, and roof deck got lots of use. Comfortable furniture, beds, and nice big kitchen with a good RO filter at the sink for good water! Clean and tidy inside, but in need of a fair bit of maintenance, many screens missing or damaged, outdoor lights not working, problems with some doors, hot tub controls, nothing serious, but for a high-end property a bit surprising. Pool was not open, which we understood, when we were there (too early) but it was not covered and was ugly - algae-green with things floating in it. Right next to the grill also, so not a great place to cook out. Attention to maintenance and repairs would bring it up to 5-stars. A few other suggestions for the property owner - some sharp knives would be nice, along with a bench to sit to take off shoes at the door along with a few coat hooks for hats, coats, and dog leashes. Management contact was very responsive and helpful in getting a few issues quickly resolved - thanks Laura!

Manager's Response

THANKS Dave for the honest appraisal of the house. We were ready INSIDE but not ready OUTSIDE! Quite honestly, we were working against the clock for the exterior spring work. Sorry you had to deal with the torn screens and the door knob to the level 2 deck. I guess the pool will always look dirty until it is opened, typically by mid MAY. But the floater stuff you mentioned was paper that had rolled out of the cabana bath all winter. We just ran out of time on the outside work... :-/ I'll suggest the coat hook/peg board and a bench for the outside. That would be a nice addition. Thanks for your review and please come and stay again.

Great location, comfortable home, horses everywhere

August 2018
, Wexford, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our stay was wonderful. The home is few miles up the 4wd beach and 2 lines back so make sure you have a good suv or truck. We were there with 3 kids and besides going for groceries we didn’t find the need to buy anything else. We had to bring a pack and play but there was already a high chair which was a nice surprise. The internet is fast and reliable. The TV has decent channels.. The pool gets sun all day. The ac can be controlled for each floor. There are quite a few board games, a pool table and few other things that can keep you entertained if the weather is bad. There is a small Weber grill that we used every day.
The service is great - the pool pump needed cleanup and after we called the service guy showed up within 2 hours
I highly recommend getting the sheets. It is totally worth it

Manager's Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Playing Hooky is a VERY comfortable house will good spaces for many types of activities. OR HOW ABOUT NO ACTIVITIES! :-)

Please come again. We would love to have you.

A great time Playing Hooky

August 2018
, severna park, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We really enjoyed our stay at Playing Hooky, wonderful vacation house with a ton of space and play areas, very easy walk to the beach as well.

Manager's Response

You are right, Playing Hooky really has quite a few nice spaces.

The game room is a nice gathering spot, and large enough for MANY people to relax or play pool, or watch a movie, or play a game.

Outside in the screened porch (with hot tub) is a big table for games or poker night. Pong anyone?

I like the sun-room table for puzzles!

The outside rockers spread throughout the decks are so comfy, you can sit and watch the ocean for hours.

The roof deck/crow's nest at sunset offers a spectacular sight over the sound.

We would love to have you come back to enjoy all those spaces again! :-)

THANKS for the nice review!

Playing Hooky

July 2018
, Williamstown, NJ United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
1

The house was beautiful, except the back yard had trash all around. A broken wooden chair, half buried yellow aluminum sliding in back of the fence, 2 old semi rusted propane tanks, old wood panels and glass
window on the side of the house and a glass door that was out side in the dunes.I notified the rental manger concerning this matter and was first told that it would be picked up after our stay. When I ask if the owners would give some money back,I received another email that stated the owner would not and that they didn't have any storage space. When you look at the picture you don't see any of the trash that is around the house. When you pay over $5000.00 for the week you don't except trash in your yard. Hopefully ,I won't be the only one that will complain about that.The pool man that came during the week and saw the trash, did take the glass door on the dune so the wild horses wouldn't step on it.which I totally appreciated.

Manager's Response

I think "The house was beautiful" is the wording to pay attention to. Yes, there are some building materials outside around the back. They are not even visible from the ground level unless you walk behind the house and behind the pool fence. If you look straight down from the third level deck you will see what is being called trash... extra siding and the storm doors. The siding should be moved since the wind always seems to toss it around. We will be addressing that. The only "trash" is empty propane tanks that were part of a gas fireplace. It was removed during the extensive interior updates that took place this past winter. We will get those out as well. This home just needs an outside storage area for the storm doors. They are not strewn about but stacked neatly, so why it was a big deal is still a mystery.

Salmon Vacation 18

July 2018
, Gloucester, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had an excellent experience. Playing Hooky was awesome as usual. Everyone in the family had a great time this summer.

Manager's Response

Salmon family... we love you guys. REPEAT guests make our day! Don't you just love all the improvements at Playing Hooky? See you next year!

We Loved it!

June 2018
, Catonsville, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had a group of 8 and there was plenty of space for all of us. I really like the fact that it has 3 king sized beds. The crow's nest deck is also fantastic. I spent a lot of time up there enjoying the view and watching the wild horses. A couple mornings there were a bunch of horses hanging around the front door!
Overall it was a wonderful place to stay at a beautiful location.

Manager's Response

THANKS Sarah, So glad you enjoyed the crow's nest. The sunrises and sunsets and your favorite beverage make that spot pretty inviting. I hope you and your family will PLAY HOOKY again! ;-)

Our stay at playing hooky October 2017

September 2017
, GASTONIA, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our stay at playing hooky was wonderful traveling on the beach was fantastic going over the dunes to our house was quite the challenge glad we had a four-wheel drive without it you'd be stuck in the sand for sure don't leave home without it.
The sun rises and the sun sets were incredible from the top of the house in the widow's peak or the crows nest. Harvest Moon coming up over the ocean was a beautiful sight.
Laura and David James the management team took great care of us and would recommend playing hooky to anyone wanting to go to the Outer Banks for great memories. thanks Doug in Charlotte

Manager's Response

Doug, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Playing Hooky. The full moon over the ocean.. what a beautiful sight. THANKS for the pictures! See you next year!

Nice house in 4x4 area

August 2017
, Centreville, MD United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a nice visit to Playing Hooky. Overall we had a good impression. The house is designed well and is in a great location up the beach. It does need some attention to get it in top shape as most rentals do. The property management company was very responsive to our requests and we appreciated their efforts to rectify any issues that came up during our stay.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review. We sure did have a minute of panic there when the sheets weren't on the beds. But finding them untouched in the linen bucket at least made it easy to rectify. THANKS for your patience with that. I hope you will come again.

Amazing Trip

July 2017
, Sykesville, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our vacation at Playing Hooky was amazing!! We will stay here again. Owners were very responsive when the wifi wasn't working. We saw the wild horses every day along with deer and a few foxes! Oh and lots of frogs that my 5 year old loved!!! House has everything you need. Beds were super comfy (which isn't usually the case). Amazing ocean views and sunset views at night!! Nothing but fabulous things to say!

Manager's Response

THANK you for the wonderful review. We like those beds so much we got the same brand for our house! PLEASE come and visit again. The frogs want to play some more!

Playing Hooky

October 2016
, Melrose Park, pa United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
2
Property condition
4

Management by far was the best, constant communication, friendly and helpful!

Perfect relaxing vaca

September 2016
, Coatesville, Pennsylvania United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house was clean. Amenities are nice. Hosts were friendly and communicated well. Loved remote location.

Amazing!!!!!

September 2016
, Mooresville, North Carolina United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was my first trip to the 4wd beaches and I couldn't be happier with the treatment I received from David and Laura. The house was clean and exactly where and how it was described. Even with a couple of days of hard rain and wind Playing Hooky had everything in the home to make this an enjoyable trip despite the weather. The kitchen was great for someone who loves to cook and the view from the top deck was amazing. Horses, deer, and foxes in the yard almost daily.

First time OBX Visit

August 2016
, Greenlawn, NY United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
3
Property condition
4

We had a great time in OBX. The house was nice but not as big as the pictures showed. Definitely would not have more than 10 people in the home. The pool and hot tub were perfect. The only minor negative was how far away we were from food store, shopping,restaurants etc. It took about 20 minutes to drive on beach to get to the paved road and then 10 mins from there so if you needed a quick trip to food store took a long time. But if you are looking for a house on the beach with beautiful views and seclusion this is your place. Overall we had a great time!!

Nice house, but you definitely need a 4X4!

August 2016
, Hockessin, Delaware United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

The house was clean, except for the hot tub, which was full full of mildew.
Our stay was good. But the owner told us we could park our non 4x4 car in a public lot. When we arrived, we saw signs saying no overnight parking. I spoke to the police who told us cars get vandalized there. So, we paid (not very much) to park in a lot, and when I told the owner we would appreciate being reimbursed, rather than just saying "no", she responded with hostility.

Excellent Vacation

July 2016
, Gloucester, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had another fantastic experience at Playing Hooky, the house was in perfect condition. We saw horses, dolphins, and foxes. We had a wonderful time on the beach and in the pool.