Row Wrapper 2

Summer Paws

4.7949
(39 Reviews)

Capacity

3 Bedrooms
3 Bath
Sleeps 7

Search Availability

About

Summer Paws, a semi-oceanfront home in Carova, the 4x4 beach, has everything you need to rest and relax: privacy, ocean views and a short walk to the beach. Watch the wild horses and abundant wildlife from the private screened porch and expansive decks on three levels. Stargaze from the hot tub or just take a dip in the private pool. Best of all, bring your faithful furry companion since this home is dog friendly. You won't be able to resist the summer pause that you can experience at Summer Paws!

The owners of this home continue to improve it every year. Their touches include NEW paint, flooring, dining set, living room furniture, rugs, flat screen tvs in every bedroom, outside seating, extended level one deck, cornhole, picnic table and more. So many improvements to the furnishings and decor! Feel the love! :-)

INVENTORY for Summer Paws:
• Private pool
• Private outdoor shower
• Water filtration system
• Flat Screen TV's in every bedroom and Living room, connected to satellite tv
• Fully stocked kitchen
• Iron and ironing board
• Telephone
• Wireless internet service
• Central heat and air
• Dishwasher, microwave
• Washer/Dryer
• Outdoor Furniture
• Outdoor Shower
• Charcoal Grill- Park style
• Beach chairs (5)
• NO SMOKING in this home

SUNDAY CHECK IN - 4 WHEEL DRIVE REQUIRED - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED - approximately 9 miles up the 4x4 beach - Pool and hot tub typically open late May to end of Sept. Pets considered, no cats. Parking at the house is free and unlimited. Beach parking passes for 2023: Guests will borrow the two season passes that belong to the house.

Save booking fees from external sites by booking directly on the Carova Cottages website:

Features

Pets

  • pets considered

View

  • dune/ partial ocean

Photos

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightly
04/21/2024 - 04/27/2024$210
04/28/2024 - 05/03/2024$213
05/04/2024 - 05/10/2024$268
05/11/2024 - 05/17/2024$313
05/18/2024 - 05/24/2024$351
05/25/2024 - 05/31/2024$394
06/01/2024 - 06/07/2024$492
06/08/2024 - 06/14/2024$558
06/15/2024 - 06/21/2024$564
06/22/2024 - 08/09/2024$571
08/10/2024 - 08/16/2024$506
08/17/2024 - 08/23/2024$485
08/24/2024 - 08/30/2024$440
08/31/2024 - 09/06/2024$380
09/07/2024 - 09/13/2024$320
09/14/2024 - 09/20/2024$291
09/21/2024 - 09/27/2024$253
09/28/2024 - 11/03/2024$243
11/04/2024 - 03/28/2025$204

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Extremely clean and Perfect!

August 2023
, White Hall, MD United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We have stayed in Carova for several years and this was our first experience with Carova Cottages. Laura was extremely responsive, available and helpful. The property was perfect for our week and I was blown away at how clean and maintained this house was. The house was well fit with amenities and supplies. We stayed for a week and contacted Laura on the first day to rebook for next year. Thank you!

Manager's Response

So funny... when we get a call the first day it may mean good or it may mean uh-oh. It was so cool that this was not only good, but "I'm not waiting a minute longer before I book this home for next year!!" Lol LOVE IT!! We'll see you in 2024!!

Another Awesome vacation at summer paws

July 2023
, Greenville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was our 3rd summer in a row vacationing at Summer paws cottage, and hope to continue renting it each summer. It fits our families needs and wants perfectly.

Manager's Response

THANKS for your nice review. Summer Paws is the best right? We're so happy you have found your spot.. your happy place. It will only be 51 weeks before you can be back!!

Great stay

July 2023
, Murrysville, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Laura was amazing and very responsive when contacted prior to our stay and during.

Manager's Response

Hey, that is my job. We try very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible!!

Thanks for your nice words!! Hope you liked Summer Paws! It's a great house!

2nd Time.

June 2023
, Cross Junction, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was our second time at Summer Paws and it was just as good as the first. We’d originally stayed in 2019 and were set for 2020 and we all know how that went! Aside from a different color the house was as clean and welcoming as we remembered.

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your nice review. You know when you come back the second time and your vacation is as lovely as the first one was, it's a keeper!! Summer Paws is perfect for the smaller family group. Plus it is so private and secluded.

I have you down for same time next year! 51 weeks and counting!

:-)

Beach Trip June 2023

June 2023
, Indiana, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had an amazing experience, and Laura has always been so helpful and kind. We had a wonderful time this year with our three children and fur baby!

Manager's Response

Thanks so much for your review! We hope you will keep coming back to Summer Paws. It is the perfect house for a small family and fur baby!

Carova Crazy!

August 2022
, Williamsville, NY United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Love ❤️

Summer Paws vacation at it's best!

July 2022
, Greenville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was our 2nd year in a row, staying at Summer Paws for our weeks vacation.The cottage is located right at the beach,super clean and well stocked. We love the swimming pool too. I would recommend this cottage to anyone. The property manager, Laura James makes the entire process of renting so easy. She also communicates with you and checks on us to make sure we are comfortable and have everything we need. She is awesome!! In fact I am getting ready to contact her now about our 3rd stay at Summer Paws next summer. Great place,great people, great times!

Awesome week at summer paws

July 2021
, Greenville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My family and I loved the cottage, the view, lots of horses visited, and location. Also Ms.James took such great care of us through the entire renting/staying process. She kept a check on us via text through the entire week, just to make sure we were good and had everything we needed.Hoping we can rent summer paws again for our vacation next year!

Another Great Week!

June 2021
, Charlotte, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Thanks for another great week in Carova! House was clean and very comfortable. Looking forward to next year!

Perfect, Private, Pup Friendly Getaway!

September 2020
, Brooklyn , NY United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We absolutely loved our week at Summer Paws. The house has more than you could possibly need to enjoy your beach vacay to the fullest- pool, hot tub, grill, lots of deck seating, beach chairs, corn hole, games, puzzles, movies and more! Kitchen fully equipped to do a week’s worth of cooking. You’re on the beach within a 5 minute walk or a 1 minute drive. Our communication with Laura was quick and easy. She was super responsive with any questions. WiFi/cell service was pretty spotty even with the house instructions for router/connection tips, but I personally didn’t find this to be an issue. You’re on vacation! Unplug and RELAX. This house met and went beyond our expectations, and we may just make it a yearly tradition!

GREAT NEIGHbors!!!

July 2020
, River Vale, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
5

amazing vacation with our family! What really made it special and different were the horses that came to visit us almost every day. They were the same 3 horses that came to the house all week. If you want to see more horses I suggest you drive on the beach close to sunset or earlier in the morning. Another really cool thing was driving on the beach. Our house was perfectly located right next to the beach access, which was perfect when we wanted to drive back to the house mid day to go to the bathroom or grab something that we needed. This is not an ideal location if you want to quickly run into town for groceries, go to a restaurants, or do any activities other then sitting on a beach or driving around looking for horses. The house is situated about 9-10 miles away from a paved road meaning if you need to get into the main town, you are looking at a good 35 mins just to get off the beach. This was great for our family due to COVID, but in the future we plan on staying in the 4x4 section but definitely closer to the paved roads. The house was great, so clean and nicely decorated. The enclosed deck was a plus at night when we ate dinner out there, or played games at the table. The kitchen was well stocked, I only wish there was a pancake griddle. The upper deck to the left off the kitchen had amazing sunset views. The laundry room was so convenient to have and we all enjoyed the bottom deck as we rinsed off our bodies from the sand and then had a refreshing swim in the pool. The lounge chairs around the pool were great! My only suggestion would be to put small stones in front of the house instead of just sand as the weeds were tall, and there was a lot of poison ivy coming out of the fence around the pool area and right next to the driveway. This is definitely a perfect house to stay in if you want a relaxing beach week with hardly any crowds. However, miles down closer to the paved roads definitely gets more crowded with trucks. WE LOVE SUMMER PAWS!!

Manager's Response

Hi And thanks for your nice review! Summer Paws is almost 9 miles north of the end of the paved road.. and YES that can take some time. It is both a blessing and a curse. A blessing for the privacy, seclusion and quiet, but yup, it's a bit of a drive at 15mph to get off the beach. If you go EARLY before folks are on the beach, it can be much quicker at 35mph. We live 7 miles up and that seems a nice happy medium! ;-) Sorry about the weeds. We have that area mowed about once a month, so I will have to up that schedule.. and include an "inside the pool area" weed wacking. LOVE the title of your review. The NEIGHbors here say come again!

Cute house not too far from the beach

July 2020
, Midlothian, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

Summer Paws saved us from a June without Carova when we had to cancel our other stay out of an abundance of caution when this madness hit back in March. THANK YOU to Carova Cottages (best rental company in OBX!) for finding this little cutie so that we could get our toes in the sand after all. We are spoiled, as we usually rent Sands of Time from the same company and it is ocean front. This property was clean for sure and just a short drive over the dunes. The beds are a bit firm but everyone is different on that. The kitchen could use a bit more stocking with plates etc. but we made due. Great outdoor shower, cute pool. Water purifier could be beefed up but that's getting picky. Overall great house for a small family get together. And again, can't say enough positive things about the rental company! (oh and yes, the horse really are RIGHT THERE!)

Manager's Response

LOL.. The horses are definitely RIGHT THERE. They love Summer Paws. I am glad we could get you into a house after all the mess with the beginning of the season and Covid. The houses were snatched up so quickly once we opened back up! Summer Paws fills the niche of the small group looking for a smaller home with pool and tub, and all the other things you get in the bigger home, just on a half size scale. !! So glad you could make it after all. The theft of our spring was madness. Hope we can get this out of the way for 2021!

Summer Paws, Carova NC.

July 2020
, Hampton, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Outstanding stay.

Manager's Response

THANKS so much. I hope you and your lovely family will come again. It was a pleasure having you. :-)

Summer Paws, Carova NC.

July 2020
, Hampton, VA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Outstanding stay.

Manager's Response

THANKS so much. I hope you and your lovely family will come again. It was a pleasure having you. :-)

Fantastic Getaway

May 2020
, Apex, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a wonderful time in Carova staying at Summer Paws. The house is perfect for a single couple or family. It has all the amenities you would need, especially in the kitchen. Also, it is great to have personalized attention from Laura who quickly responds to any questions.

Manager's Response

We LOVE it when folks LOVE their vacation! I hope you will return to Summer Paws. It really is a nice quiet spot! THANKS for your nice words!

Fantastic Getaway

May 2020
, Apex, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a wonderful time in Carova staying at Summer Paws. The house is perfect for a single couple or family. It has all the amenities you would need, especially in the kitchen. Also, it is great to have personalized attention from Laura who quickly responds to any questions.

Manager's Response

We LOVE it when folks LOVE their vacation! I hope you will return to Summer Paws. It really is a nice quiet spot! THANKS for your nice words!

Beware of policy! Absolutely no benevolence.

September 2019
, Wallace, WV US

Overall
1
Services from rental manager
1
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
3

Hurricane Dorian interrupted our vacation causing catastrophic floods, tornadoes, etc. The governor issued a complete mandatory evacuation, so we were only able to stay 1 night out of the 7 nights we booked. I asked the property manager (Laura) if they offered any type of reimbursement, since there was a mandatory evacuation for the entire week. She advised that we go against orders and sent me a to-do list for “riding out” a hurricane (stock up on non perishables, bolt down furniture, prepare to be stuck for a while)... I told her that I wouldn’t put my family’s life at stake over attempting to finish our “vacation” by riding out a life threatening natural disaster. A man up the beach actually lost his life the day we were leaving! She told me that they were not worried about our situation and that it was our choice to leave, and emphasized that they have a ZERO refund policy, and that even if the house burned down from a fire, there would be no refund.
I didn’t purchase travel insurance, so that part was our mistake, but it baffles me that neither the property manager nor the owner were willing to have mercy during such an event and a mandatory evacuation! And that she would go as far as advising her guests to “ride it out” rather than putting their safety first!

I personally won’t be renting this house again or going through Carova Cottages in the future, because I care about who my money is going to- and it’s clear that they put the money above the well being of their guests.

Manager's Response

Both of the statements that we 1) advised this guest to "ride out" the storm and 2) that we would not issue a refund if the house burned down are completely false. We advised all of our guests to stay tuned to the local authorities for direction and told them we would be keeping them informed in the event that there was a mandatory evacuation. We gave them information that is typically received as helpful for weathering a storm. At the time, we were at least going to get a storm, but the hurricane was five days out.


This guest arrived on Sunday, spent two days worrying about the coming hurricane and then left on Tuesday. So she spent two nights, not one as she states. The Evacuation order for our county was issued on Wednesday a day after she left. The hurricane arrived on Friday, so at no time was this guest ever going to be stranded or endangered.


We did offer to allow this guest to return to the house this fall for a finish up of the days she missed. That was a VERY unusual offer, but we were trying to appease her and are not completely without heart. She replied by telling us that a fall visit was not good for her. She wanted the replacement days to be next year!! So our "mercy" was just not merciful enough.


We advise all guests to purchase travel insurance. We warn them repeatedly in all of our communications that hurricanes are not our responsibility. This guest continues to think that they are.

Stayed 7/27-8/4/19

July 2019
, Dayton, Ohio United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We love love love Summer Paws, this was our 2nd year at summer paws. It’s literally perfect for our family. It’s clean, cozy & only a short walk to the ocean! We really have nothing but great things happen here. The owner obviously cares about their property & the management is the best I’ve seen in the service industry. Our trip couldn’t have went better, the only things that were brought up were when our grass was cut everything blew into the pool area & pool, and they didn’t blow it back out & there was pet hair from the last person still lingering but we have pets & love that we have an option to bring one year & it really wasn’t horrible.. really hard to complain when your surroundings are beauty & love! Ty so much & we will definitely be back!!!

Manager's Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Summer Paws. This owner has done a great job of making everything perfect. The grass clippings did cause a bit of work for the pool operator LOL!! No way to avoid it though since outside that pool fence would be overrun by the wild cherries and blackberries. I hope you are planning your next trip.. and don't forget to look for a lot next time. We like permanent residents and your line of work would be PERFECT here! ;-)

Summer Paws

July 2019
, Courtland, Virginia United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Awesome cottage, was equipped for all our needs. Loved being 5 minutes away from the beach. Will be coming back next year!!

Manager's Response

And we can't wait to have you. THANKS for all the work you did upon departure. You are a gem!

Favorite house in 14 years of Carova vacations.

June 2019
, Cross Junction, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We loved everything about this house. The house has been beautifully decorated and seemed to have everything we needed. It’s clear the owners are invested in taking care of this house and providing a first rate vacation experience. The bottom deck is especially inviting and opens up another area to enjoy. Quick tip, back your vehicle close to the deck and always put the rope up! Horse hooves on deck boards @ 4 in the morning can be a little disconcerting. The area is quiet and an easy drive or walk to the beach. The pool is wonderful and the screened in porch off the top floor was great for all meals or just sitting. The desk area in the living room was immediately taken over by our 8 year old artist in residence daughter. She enjoyed being able to color and draw in her own spot. We also have become avid fans of Goblit Gobblers! Don’t know, you’ll just have to go and find out. This isn’t our first rental with Carova Cottages, Laura & David couldn’t be nicer and have always been quick to help if there is an issue.

Manager's Response

LOVE that you are returning and that this home is your favorite after FOURTEEN YEARS of trying!

:-)

Favorite house in 14 years of Carova vacations.

June 2019
, Cross Junction, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We loved everything about this house. The house has been beautifully decorated and seemed to have everything we needed. It’s clear the owners are invested in taking care of this house and providing a first rate vacation experience. The bottom deck is especially inviting and opens up another area to enjoy. Quick tip, back your vehicle close to the deck and always put the rope up! Horse hooves on deck boards @ 4 in the morning can be a little disconcerting. The area is quiet and an easy drive or walk to the beach. The pool is wonderful and the screened in porch off the top floor was great for all meals or just sitting. The desk area in the living room was immediately taken over by our 8 year old artist in residence daughter. She enjoyed being able to color and draw in her own spot. We also have become avid fans of Goblit Gobblers! Don’t know, you’ll just have to go and find out. This isn’t our first rental with Carova Cottages, Laura & David couldn’t be nicer and have always been quick to help if there is an issue.

Manager's Response

LOVE that you are returning and that this home is your favorite after FOURTEEN YEARS of trying!

:-)

Amazing Get Away

July 2018
, Statesville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Perfect house for a relaxing beach vacation. Great views, close beach access, updated interior. Picture perfect retreat.

Manager's Response

Hi Caroline,

Summer Paws is a perfect place for relaxation. Just a stone's throw from the access for easy walk to the beach. OR drive. Let me know how we can improve our clean.... we strive for five star ratings. Hope you will come again.

Summer Paws Review

June 2018
, Oakland, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great week a Summer Paws! It was a perfect family vacation, the house was clean an comfortable and we were steps away from the beach. I can't wait to come back.

Manager's Response

SO glad you enjoyed your stay. We offer a repeat guest discount for your next visit. :-)

Nice stay in Summer Paws

May 2018
, Dublin, OH United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

good overall stay. Only issue for me was that i wish there were some first level storage, but we managed our kayaks and equipment and jeep pieces (doors, top). Vacation rental in a great location.
The home clean and in good shape. The vacation rental management staff was helpful

Manager's Response

Hi Chris,

The lower level storage is a good idea, but is probably not going to happen because this area is such a low crime district! Theft is just not an issue here since we are so far away from everything! That is what makes the vacation so relaxing! Hope you will come again. We would be happy to host your family!

Great Getaway

April 2018
, Sterling, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had an excellent time spending a week away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Mom, dad and our 10 month old daughter truly enjoyed Summer Paws. The property was clean and well maintained. It was as closely baby proofed as a non-baby proofed house was. There are some games and puzzles for rainy days, as well as direct TV. Next time, we'd bring more to keep the baby occupied because pouring rainy days were a little rough. It was too cool for the pool, but the hot tub was perfect. The kitchen had pretty much every thing we needed. We brought our own crockpot to make freezer meals, which worked out very well. In the future, we would be better planned for the beach driving; tire gauge, quarters for air, etc... We would also be more mindful of the tide times. We would very much recommend this to friends, we already have.

Manager's Response

THANKS for your nice review. I'll put your suggestions about having a tire gauge and quarters on my website. SOON we are supposed to have an air-up station at the end of the hard road. Hoping that comes true for 2018, but we are on island time!! LOL. 2019!! ?? In the meantime, I think the county is going to put some pumps in the Heritage Park. We'll stay tuned on that one.


So glad you enjoyed your stay at Summer Paws.

Wonderful!!!

September 2017
, Mechanicsville, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had an amazing time at summer paws it was the perfect size for our family and really made us feel at home. We had everything that we needed for our stay and everyone was willing to work with us to make our trip fantastic! The manager was so wonderful and really made this trip a breeze. Only thing that we had a little trouble with was we have small children and the 4x4 beach was tough with them wanting to play and run but that was nothing against summer paws.

Manager's Response

THANKS so much for your nice review. Summer Paws really is the perfect house for a small family. It has EVERYTHING you need and some things you didn't know you needed!! :-) This beach is tough with young kids. I hope you were able to enjoy it anyway. The weather sure was PERFECT! Come again soon!

Excellent stay

August 2017
, new middletown, ohio United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Excellent vacation rental. Amazing location and views. Management team is great. Honestly couldn't have asked for more.

Manager's Response

Thanks you for your wonderful review. We agree, Summer Paws offers a GREAT vacation!

2nd stay even better then the first!!

August 2017
, Shakopee, MN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Summer Paws! I can't say enough good things about this house! We have 4 young kids that range in age from 13 - 4! There is something for everyone at Summer Paws! We noticed several great improvements with the new ownership! The deck underneath the house is awesome! We spent many nights playing corn hole and grilling! At one point a horse even fell asleep underneath on the deck!! We saw horses every day! So much fun!! There were a ton of sand toys and a great big sun tent (that had seen some wear but still worked awesome) that we used every day at the beach! Laura was so great! Always there to help with recommendations and going the extra mile to make sure everything is just right! We travel all the way from Mn and it is so nice to have such a fabulous house to stay at! We plan to travel back to Corova every other year and will only book with Corova Cottages!!

Manager's Response

THANKS so much Nicole. I was glad to meet you and your family. What a nice tribute to Summer Paws! The owners have put some thought into the improvements, and it seems the lower level deck is the new favorite!! :-) I am so pleased you will return to Carova Cottages and Summer Paws. Build those memories!!

An Awesome Vacation!!!

July 2017
, Sewell, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We rented this house last-minute after our vacation in Avon was cancelled a day before our check-in date due to the disastrous power outage. I am so glad we happened upon this place. The house was very clean, the pool and hot tub were awesome after returning from the beach. And horses, if you're into them, every day, all day. This place must have the sweetest grass in OBX. It got to the point where they were 10 feet from us while we would grill every night. And the entire surface on the ground level under the house is a wood deck - great place to hang out. If you're worried that the house isn't on the beach, don't be. It is a close walk.

I have nothing but positive things to say about the house and our stay. And Laura was awesome to deal with as well! Very friendly and responsive.

Manager's Response

That lower level deck is getting RAVE reviews. I saw a corn hole game set up on the front part of that deck. The picnic was set up on the picnic table and the grill was smelling like heaven. The kids were enjoying the pool, just steps away! Under the house is not just for horses anymore! ;-)

Nice Cottage

July 2017
, THE PLAINS, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

Nice area to vacation. Pool is big enough to cool down when not on the beach. Carova Cottages was very responsive and friendly to any issues or questions we had. We will definitely bookmark this for a future vacation.

Only issues/suggestions encountered are there is poison ivy in the area, so just watch your step around the grill. Be nice if the grill could turn so that wind could be blocked while grilling.

Manager's Response

Hi Jon and thank you for your nice review. I think the only good thing about getting poison ivy at the beach is that the ocean probably dried it right up! HOPE SO! That metal park style grill goes the way of everything here... the ocean air dries it right up too! Maybe a sledgehammer would free it up! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.

Peaceful Escape and Awesome Beach Vacation

July 2017
, Union, KY United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

My wife and I and our 2 daughters, and Sunny the dog had a great time. We were looking for a place that wasn't crowded, had a beach, allowed dogs, and was fun and relaxing. Summer Paws checked them all!!

Manager's Response

THANKS Greg. Summer Paws is a pretty relaxing home. I hope you and your family will come back and visit again.

We love summer paws

June 2017
, Cranberry Twp, PA United States

Overall
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

This was our fourth summer staying at the Home known as summer paws. We love this home. We have three little boys ages one, three and seven. We also have a German Shepherd. We like this home because it is the perfect size for our family. We love having our own pool and our own hot tub. My sons love the surrounding nature, the horses of course especially. I personally enjoy the home the air-conditioning in the master suite with a separate bedroom. The that's were so comfy and my sons love sleeping in the bunk beds. Even our one year on his own room where we could put his pack and play and he could sleep comfortably. Honestly there is no where you can beat the price of this house.

Manager's Response

THANK you so much for the nice review! You are right, this home is PERFECT for a small family and the new beds are so COMFY. So glad you have made it an annual tradition and w look forward to seeing you next year. :-)

Sand glorious Sand

September 2016
, Rockaway, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Everything was perfect. Yes there is sand. Sand on the beach, on the dunes and on your toes. Clean, quiet and away from the crowds. Remote but with all the comforts of home. Bring your family and the dog because all are welcome. A rare little piece of paradise.
If you are looking to go out for dinner every night or shop with the tourists you may want to stay closer to Duck. If you want privacy and seclusion this is the area for you. See you in 2017! Dan, Joanne and Ripple
And Laura you are great! Thanks for everything! Every question i had from towels to weather conditions were answered within minutes.
I would love a gas grill next year ;)

A Huge Fan!!!

August 2016
, Tonawanda, NY United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My 2 children and large dog visited the Outer Banks for the very first time this past August and stayed on Corova Beach in Summer Paws. I plan to return to Corova Beach every year, God willing, and would most definitely stay at Summer Paws. There was more than enough room for us with opportunity for 2-4 additional people. The house was beautiful, so cozy and very clean, offered privacy with no houses on top of it, very short walk to the beach, great ocean breeze being in the 2nd row, loved, loved, loved the top story screened in dining area, very accommodating to our beloved dog stocked with food and water bowls and mat, attractive to the wild horses that visited us twice that we saw, amazing property managers, Laura and David. who sympathized and helped immensely when my son lost his ONLY eye glasses and my daughter her ONLY retainers in the ocean on the SAME day and we needed to make emergency purchases from home and ship to an alternate location Corolla, great laundry room which came in handy, like new appliances, including the washer, dryer and dishwasher - I could go on and on as I hated to leave Summer Paws. It was very inviting and offered everything that we wanted and needed this family vacation! After staying on Carova Beach, I can not imagine staying anywhere else. The 4x4 experience was very exciting and exactly the environment I prefer - more relaxed, close to the ocean, 1 minute drive ONTO the beach and thrilling drive up and down the beach, all while being close to the town of Corolla with groceries, gift shops, restaurants, family friendly activities and more.

Great Vacation!!

August 2016
, Nashville, NC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great house and perfect location! Close to volunteer fire department where you get ice and just a very short, less than 1 min, drive to the beach. The pool was clean and very refreshing! There was a wonderful breeze from every porch. Very clean and homey feel. My only suggestion to the homeowner would be to upgrade the mattresses. They were not the worst I have ever slept on but they weren't the most comfortable either, even with the mattress toppers. Overall though wonderful vacation home and I would not hesitate to recommend this property to a anyone and plan to rent again in the future!!

Manager's Response

THANK you so much for the review. We have replaced the mattresses!! NEW updates for 2017 season also include a new dining room set, new directv flat screen tv's in every room, new coffee table, extended decking on level 1. NEW owner has made many improvements to the furnishings and decor! :-)

Family Trip

August 2016
, Doylestown, PA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

We enjoyed our stay at Summer Paws. Laura was very helpful with questions we had. Location was perfect for us. Far enough down the beach that you did not have many day trippers and a short walk from the house to the beach. The property could use some upgraded furnishings. The mattresses are not comfortable (much better with the mattress pad) and the dinning set has seen better days. We loved the pool, used it every day. Loved the screened in area on the top deck. Loved the lay out of the house. Great view of sunrise and sunset from the deck. Plenty of star gazing. Horses came to visit almost everyday as well as deer, frogs and a snake!

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review. NEW updates for 2017 season include new dining room set, new mattresses, new directv flat screen tv's in every room, new coffee table, extended decking on level 1, hall carpets replaced. NEW owner has made many improvements to the furnishings and decor! :-)

Family Time at the Beach

July 2016
, Patchogue, NY United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
2
Property condition
4

For my family it worked out well. Although the beach travel to and from the house kept us from any unnecessary trips - returning to Corolla for groceries on only 2 occasions. So we occupied our time with beach and pool activities

Best vacation ever!

July 2016
, DOWNINGTOWN, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house was great, really nice and clean, we got to enjoy watching the wild horses come up to the house every day. Laura and David were a pleasure to deal with and provided many tips and suggestions. There is a 3 min walk to the beach and if you wake up early you can be alone on the beach enjoying the sunrise with the wild horses.

Vacation

May 2016
, Pataskala, OH United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Loved the house and the location. It was a great experience.